2012 ITAG Conference Information

“Getting into the Game: Pawns to Players”

Save the Date! The 2012 ITAG Annual Conference will be held October 15-16, 2012
at the Airport Holiday Inn. Details will be posted soon!

2012 Registration Information

Click here to Register for conference – Event Finished

2012 Conference Materials

Click here for the 2012 Registration Packet
Click here for the 2012 Parent Flyer
Click here for the 2012 Parent Night Descriptions

2012 Presentations and Handouts

Click here for the Avoid Humdrum Days: Collaborating and Co-Teaching with Enrichment presentation
Presenter: Karen Connelly, G/T Teacher & Coordinator
Holmes Junior High
Cedar Falls, IA 50613
E-mail: karen.connelly@cfschools.org

Click here for the Everything I learned About Gifted Kids I found in Children’s Literature presentation
Click here for the 2012 Bibliography handout
Presenter: Christie McConathy, M.S.E. and Jenny Schiltz, M.A.E., Gifted Education Consultants
Des Moines Public Schools

Click here for the Fund Independent Progects with Real-World Connections presentation
Presenter: Melanie L. Bondy
Mind Vine Press, LLC
70727 Copper Boulevard
Lawton, Michigan 49065
Phone: 269-978-7227
E-mail: melanie@mindvinepress.com

Click here for the Going Global With Coffeechug presentation
Presenter: Aaron Mauer, ELP Teacher
Bettendorf Community School District
Bettendorf, IA 52722
Phone: 563-359-3686, ext. 5814
E-mail: aarmau@gmail.com

Click here for the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council presentation
Presenter: Kari Webb, NW Iowa STEM Regional Manager
Iowa Lakes, Community College
300 South 18th Street
Estherville, IA 51334-2725
Phone: 712-330-9816
E-mail: kwebb@ilcc.cc.ia.us

Click here for the Instant Challenges: Creative Problem Solving for the Classroom presentation
Click here for the Gifted Adults presentation
Presenter: Jay Swords
Phone: 563-386-5500, ext. 118
E-mail: swordsc@mail.davenportschools.org

Click here for the Junior Great Books Sample Unit presentation
Presenter: Dan Lindstrom
The Great Books Foundation
35 East Wacker Drive, Ste# 400
Chicago, IL 60601
E-mail: dan.lindstrom@greatbooks.org
Website: http://www.greatbooks.org/

Click here for the Making the Move to Competency-Based Education presentation
Click here for the Conract for HBC Alternate Assignment
Click here for the Honors by Contract Reflection Sheet
Click here for the Honors by Contract Teacher Letter
Click here for the Student Application and Proposal for Honors by Contract
Presenter: Diane Pratt, MS Ed., Talented and Gifted Specialist and Past-President, ITAG
Fordge Community Schools
F ort Dodge, IA 50501
Phone: 515-574-5691, ext. 56227 – Fair Oaks Middle School
Phone: 515-955-1770, ext. 58310 – Fort Dodge Senior High
E-mail: dpratt@fort-dodge.k12.ia.us
Presenter: Jenny Larson, 7th-12th Gifted Education Instructor
Fordge Community Schools
Fort Dodge, IA 50501
Phone: 515-574-5711 – Phillips Middle School
Phone: 515-955-1770 – Fort Dodge Senior High
E-mail: jelarson@fort-dodge.k12..ia.us

Click here for the Opportunities Available Through Belin-Blank Center presentation
Click here for the Summer 2013 Calendar
Presenter: Laurie Croft, Ph.D., Administrator, Professional Development
The Connie Belin and Jacqueline N. Blank International Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development
600 Blank Honors Center
The University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-6148, Toll Free: 800-336-6463
E-mail: laurie-croft@uiowa.edu
Web site: http://www.education.uiowa.edu/belinblank

Click here for the Playing the Game to Changing the World presentation
Click here for the Sevice-Learning: Resources for Beginners handout
Click here for the K-12 Service-Learning Standards for Quality Practice handout
Presenter: Linda Linn, Consultant
Prairie Lakes AEA 8
23 E 7th Street
Spencer, IA 51301
Phone: 712-262-4707, ext. 2007
E-mail: llinn@aea8.k12.ia.us

Click here for the Service Learning for Elementary Students presentation
Presenter: Doreen Underwood
Great Prairie AEA
E-mail: doreen.underwood@gpaea.org
Keokuk Community Schools
E-mail: dunderwood@keokuk.k12.ia.us

Click here for the Starting a Successful Internship/Mentorship Program presentation
Presenter: Brenda Rush
Humboldt CSD
E-mail: brush@humbuldt.k12.ia.us

Contact the presenter directly for the presentation Understanding the Twice-Exceptional Learner:
Identification and Services
Presenter: Alissa F. Doobay, Ph.D., Licensed Psychologist
Assessment and Counseling Clinic
Belin-Blank Center for Gifted Education and Talent Development
The University of Iowa
600 Blank Honors Center
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-6148, Toll Free: 800-336-6463
E-mail: alissa-doobay@uiowa.edu
Web site:
http://www.education.uiowa.edu/belinblank

See the information below regarding the K-8 Economics and the Business presentation
For more information about establishing a school saving bank in elementary schools or
other community financial education projects contact:
Presenter: Gail Kenkel, Council Bluffs Community Schools
E-mail: gkenkel@cbcsd.org
Presenter: Mary Lynn Reiser, UNO Center for Economic Education
E-mail: mreiser@unomaha.edu

Graduate Credit Information

Drake University Graduate Credit 2012 Flyer
Drake University Graduate Credit Syllabus
Drake University Graduate Credit Syllabus 2
Drake University Graduate Credit Grading Info
University of Iowa – Syllabus for Special Projects: Leadership in Gifted Education
University of Iowa – Registration form for Special Projects: Leadership in Gifted Education
University of Iowa – Syllabus for TAG: You’re It
University of Iowa – Registration form TAG: You’re It

Past Conference Photo Highlights

Click here for the 2011 conference photo highlights

Leave a Reply